You are here
Home > Rest of London > Audio Production Awards 2017

Audio Production Awards 2017

On 23rd of November I attended the Audio Production Award at the BFI Southbank, organised by the Radio Independents Group (RIG).

The Event its self was hosted by star radio DJ Trevor Nelson and had several celebrity guests. Comedian Mark Watson, who made previous appearance on Would I Lie to You and Mock the Week, made an early comical appearance. Half way through the awards the magician who won Britain’s got Talent 2016, Lance Corporal Richard Jones performed. Roger Bolton did a touching tribute to the late Steve Hewlett.
Altogether there were 21 awards; here is the list of Awards, their hosts, the winners and their companies/programmes they represent:

  • Best Entertainment Producer- Winner Ed Morrish, Freelance
  • Best Music Producer (hosted by David Arnold)- David Akosim, Somethin’ Else
  • Best Podcast Producer (hosted by Ollie Mann)- Eva Krysiak, Everyone Else
  • Best Sound Design/Engineer (hosted by Snarl Char)- Steve Bond, Freelance
  • Best Digital Producer (hosted by Jamie East)- Thom Hoffman, Freelance
  • Best Station Sound Producer (hosted by Tanya Edward)- Liam Hadley, BBC Radio Pop Hub Station Sound
  • Best Art/Music Documentary /Feature Maker- Cathy FritzGerald, White Stiletto Productions
  • Best Current Affairs Documentary/Feature Maker (hosted by Ed Miliband)- Mark Carter, BBC Sussex
  • Best Creative Documentary/Feature Maker (hosted by Soweto Kinch)- Hana Walker-Brown, Freelance
  • Best New Producer (hosted by Jack Saunders)- Victoria Ferran, Just Radio
  • Best New Voice (hosted by Dotun Adebayo)- Ellie Cawthorne
  • Gold Award (hosted by Nick Grimshaw)- Tony Blackburn
  • Best Comedy Producer (hosted by Jack Win-Williams, also did a tribute to the late comedy producer Gethin Thomas)- Matt Stronge, BBC Studios Comedy
  • Best Drama Producer (hosted by Gemma Kerney)- Lance Dann, Resonance
  • Audiobook Narrator of the Year (hosted by Lance Corporal Richard Jones)- Adams Sims, Flowers for Algernon (ID Audio)
  • Best Audiobook/Readings Producer (hosted by Caroline Rafael)- Chris Thompson, Heavy Entertainment
  • Grassroots Production Award (hosted by Matt Richardson)- National Prison Radio
  • Best Presenter- Speech (Grace Dent)- Dotun Adebayo
  • Best Presenter-Music (Yassa)- Lauren Laverne
  • Lifetime Achievement Award (hosted by Richard Alison)- Phil Critchlow
  • Indie of the Year Award (hosted by Claire Stingie)- PRA Production

The Awards its self was an enjoyable event. These sort of ceremony can be quiet strenuous and boring, however the Radio Awards begged to differ. Trevor Nelson was a brilliant host, keeping everything brief, keeping to the point and most importantly he was very entertaining.

There was also complementary alcohol and seafood, which was a pleasant surprise especially considering the price of drink and food in London.

This was the first Award Ceremony I’ve attended as a journalist and it’s safe to say it will not be the last. The amount of celebrities, the glamour and the entertainment made the event a worthwhile experience for anyone.